The Gilbert Town Council has adopted an emergency order requiring the wearing of face coverings in public effective June 19, 2020 at 5 PM.
Learn more here >
For the latest information and department impacts related to COVID-19, visit

Gilbert Digital Newsroom

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Gilbert's SPARK App League Teaches Kids to Code

Post Date:05/16/2019 2:10 PM

Gilbert, Ariz.- Kids from across Arizona are learning how to code through Gilbert’s SPARK App League, a coding competition for high school and junior high students. With an advanced and beginner track, students at every level can participate in making their own working video game and learn coding skills in the process. This year’s competition focused on incorporating a theme of “City of the Future” and inspired ideas for games based on time travel, adventure and more.

  The competition is hosted by Gilbert, Arizona in partnership with Arizona State University’s Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering and sponsored by Waymo. Volunteers from companies like Deloitte also attend to assist students and provide feedback for the creation of their games.  

Gilbert Classical Academy student Shravya Aragam said she’s always been interested in video games but was discouraged because she was a girl. “When I see so many women even in this room working and asking me if I need any help, it gives me the sense of hope,” she said, “that one day I could be in their place helping future generations as well.”  

In addition to the annual coding competition, Gilbert will soon launch its coding club that will let students create civic-minded projects with SPARK App League throughout the school year.  

For more information on SPARK App League and to learn how to participate visit


2019 Winners:

Best Overall Game

Kernel Panic- Advanced
Tommy Blunt, Lucas Shaw, and Ian Sugg

Abraxis Drift -Beginner
Brady Waner, Donovan Harp, and Empress Ragsdale

“Model Citizen” Award – Best Represents the “City of the Future”

Campo Verde 2: Electric Boogaloo- Advanced
Kylie Dumas and Brandon Jerrell

Metasploit- Beginner
Keilani Uehara, Grace Guentzel, and Mars Kapadia

Best Technical Game

NaCl-y Boi- Advanced
Alex Kokona, Takota Nelson, and Derek Scandrett

The Innovators- Beginner
Solomon Rokusek, Major Turley, and Aiden Scott

Best Visual Design

Deadly Dangerous Dragons- Advanced
Arianna Harden and Kyler Harden

Fornite Force- Beginner
Ryan Cabrera, Ty Gonzales, and Jeffy Yu

Best Game Design

Creative Team Name- Advanced
Scott Ford, Jacob Heaton, and Mitchell Buckner

Highland Junior High Scratch- Beginner
Victoria Wang, Amanda Flickinger, and Will Montgomery

Return to full list >>